• Text Colour:
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • Text Size: A A A
New phone number

03000 132 132

Contact us »

Church Island

Off Ballydermot Road
BT45 8LF
Tel: 028 7963 1510

Church Island is a small island on Lough Beg. On a visit to the island you will discover the ruins of an old church with no spire. The spire was built beside the church for Bishop Harvey in the late 1700s who wanted a view of a spire from his dwelling in Bellaghy.

The ruins of the church are thought to date back to the time of St. Patrick who used the River Bann to navigate to the island to meet with Taoide to found an early Christian settlement. On the island is a stone known as the Bullaun Stone featuring a hole that holds water. The Bullaun Stone is most likely associated with the first monastic settlement, however local anecdote has it that the hole in the stone was made by St. Patrick as he knelt to pray.

For more information contact:
The Bridewell VIC