## **Local Council Elections**

## **Notice of Election**

## Notice is hereby given that:

- 1. Elections are to be held for Councillors to serve on **Mid Ulster District Council**. In the event of a contest, a poll will be taken on **18 May 2023** and the hours of the poll will be from **7.00am to 10.00pm**.
- 2. The number of Councillors to be elected for each District Electoral Area of the Council is as follows:

District Electoral Area	Wards	Number to be elected
Carntogher	Lower Glenshane, Maghera, Swatragh, Tamlaght O'Crilly, Valley (Mid Ulster)	5
Clogher Valley	Augher and Clogher, Aughnacloy, Ballygawley, Caledon, Castlecaulfield, Fivemiletown	6
Cookstown	Coagh, Cookstown East, Cookstown South, Cookstown West, Loughry, Oaklands, Pomeroy	7
Dungannon	Ballysaggart, Killyman, Killymeal, Moy, Moygashel, Mullaghmore	6
Magherafelt	Coolshinney, Glebe (Mid Ulster), Lissan, The Loup, Town Parks East	5
Moyola	Ballymaguigan, Bellaghy, Castledawson, Draperstown, Tobermore	5
Torrent	Ardboe, Coalisland North, Coalisland South, Donaghmore, Stewartstown (Mid Ulster), Washing Bay	6

- 3. Nomination papers may be delivered to Adrian McCreesh, the Deputy Returning Officer (DRO), at Mid Ulster District Council Magherafelt Office, Ballyronan Road, Magherafelt, BT45 6EN between 10.00am and 4.00pm on 12 April, 13 April, 14 April, 17 April, 18 April, 19 April, 20 April, 21 April and from 10.00am to 1.00pm on 24 April. They may only be delivered by the candidate, proposer or seconder or by the election agent if the agent's name and address have been given to the Deputy Returning Officer.
- 4. Nomination papers may be downloaded from the Council website or the Electoral Office website www.eoni.org.uk or obtained during normal office hours from the Deputy Returning Officer by either calling at the office or by telephoning 03000 132 132.
- 5. Applications to vote by post or by proxy are available to download from the Electoral Office website <a href="www.eoni.org.uk">www.eoni.org.uk</a>. Completed applications must reach the Electoral Office for NI, 15 Church Street, Belfast BT1 1ER by **5.00pm on 26 April 2023** except where the application is made on the grounds of

unforeseen illness. Any such application must reach the Absent Voting Unit by **5.00pm on 10 May 2023**.

Adrian McCreesh
Deputy Returning Officer

Address: Mid Ulster District Council Magherafelt Office, Ballyronan Road, Magherafelt, BT45 6EN

**Dated:** 11 April 2023

## NOTE:

Every person having a claim against the Deputy Returning Officer for any debt incurred by or on behalf of the Deputy Returning Officer for the purposes of an election shall, within forty two days after the day on which public notice is given of the result of the election, send to the Deputy Returning Officer detailed particulars in writing of such claim and the Deputy Returning Officer shall not be liable in respect of anything which is not duly stated in such particulars.