Skip to main content

Mid Ulster District Council Celebrates Sporting Excellence at Prestigious Awards Ceremony

Mid Ulster District Council hosted a remarkable evening celebrating the outstanding achievements and contributions of athletes, coaches, and sports organisations at their inaugural Mid Ulster Sports Awards ceremony last night at The Burnavon Theatre in Cookstown.
The event brought together athletes of all ages and disciplines, highlighting the rich sporting talent and passion within the district. From budding young stars to seasoned veterans, the ceremony showcased the remarkable dedication and commitment of individuals and teams to their respective sports.

Hosted by BBC Sports Personality Thomas Niblock and Council Chair, Councillor Dominic Molloy, the event drew over 300 attendees from across the district, making it a truly memorable and inspiring evening.
The Mid Ulster Sports Awards ceremony honoured excellence across a diverse range of eight categories, and the winners on the night were:

Volunteer of the Year:
Lynsey Arthurs

Unsung Hero of the Year:
Brian Dallas

Coach of the Year:
Michael Henry

Young Sports Person of the Year (18 years of age and under)
Michael O'Neill

Sports Person of the Year with a Disability:
Samantha Josephine Sweeney (Sammy Jo Sweeney)

Team of the Year
Watty Grahams Glen Senior Football Team

Club of the Year
Keep 'Er Lit Running Club

Sports Person of the Year
Nick Griggs
Chair of the Council Dominic Molloy presented the winners with their trophies on the night and told us:

We are immensely proud to host the Mid Ulster Sports Awards ceremony last night in the fabulous surroundings of The Burnavon Theatre, recognizing the remarkable achievements and contributions of our local sporting community. Sports play a vital role in fostering community spirit, promoting health and well-being, and inspiring future generations. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners who have showcased the best of Mid Ulster's sporting talent.

The Council extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the nominees, finalists and winners of the 2024 Sports Awards and remains committed to supporting and promoting sports at all levels within the district, and looks forward to continuing to celebrate sporting excellence in the years to come.