Skip to main content

Lighting Up Council Buildings

The Council receives numerous requests from various charities and members of the public to light up its buildings certain colours to recognise and raise awareness of many important issues and campaigns.

The table below shows when the buildings will be lighting up next, for which cause and in which colour.

2024 Dates

Cause and Colour

Friday 16 February

VOYPIC (Voice of Young People in Care) (Yellow)

Tuesday 20 February

60th Anniversary of the Cystic Fibrosis Trust (Yellow)

Thursday 22 February 

World Encephalitis (Inflammation of the Brain) Day (Red)

Thursday 29 February

British Porphyria Association: Rare Disease (Purple)

Sunday 3 March

Marie Curie: Memory Stones of Love - Day of Reflection for those lost in the Covid Pandemic (Yellow)

Monday 4 March

200th Anniversary of the RNLI (Yellow)

Friday 19 April 

Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia (CDH) (Blue, Pink and Yellow)

Saturday 4 May 

Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Day (Black and white)

Friday 17 May

Nerve Tumours UK (Shine a light on NF) (Blue)

Friday 31 May

Prader-Willi Syndrome (PWS) Association UK, Go Orange Day (Orange)

Sunday 1 September 

60th Anniversary of Leukaemia & Lymphoma NI (Red)

Monday 23 September

NHS Organ Donor Register: Organ Donation Week (Pink)

Request to light up our buildings

To make a request to have our designated properties illuminated for your charity and charitable purpose please complete our online form below.  In order to attain necessary approval through Council requests should be submitted eight weeks prior to the requested date of the illumination.