Locals, and visitors alike, still have an opportunity to experience one of Mid Ulster’s historic landmarks during a tour of Bellaghy Bawn.
The coach tour, organised by Mid Ulster District Council, is the final in a series which have showcased some of the region’s most historic landmarks, stretching back to the times of the ancient kings of Ulster.
Bellagy Bawn is one of the best preserved examples of its kind in Northern Ireland and on 22 August the final tour will reveal the history of the ‘Plantation Fort'.
Tour guide Gerry Darby will reveal how the Bawn was built circa 1618 by the Vintneris Company of London and was substantially renovated in 1780s by Bishop Harvey, Earl of Bristol. It remained a family residence until 1981 and in 1996 opened to the public as a visitor centre, displaying exhibits on the history of the area dating as far back as early Mesolithic man.
The tour costs £8 per person. A bus will depart from the Burnavon at 6pm. To book and for further information contact Cookstown Visitor Information Centre on 028 8676 9949.